RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY UNIVERSITY SENATE

MINUTES	Organizational Meeting of the University Senate
DATE	April 27, 2007
TIME AND PLACE	11:00 a.m.Multipurpose RoomRutgers Student Center126 College AvenueCollege Avenue Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Adam, Alger, Allender, Atzbi, Barone, Bhuyan, Blimling, Bodnar, Boikess, Borisovets, Bubb, Bumby, Bynes, Chiesa, Ciklamini, Cohick, Coit, Cooke, Coppolo, Cotter, Covey, DeLisi, Dutta, Fowler, Friedrich, Furmanski, Galili, Gillett, Gimenez, Gould, Grant, Greenfeld, Greenhut, Guo, Hall, Hughes, Hyman, Jackson, Johnson-Scott, Kalelkar, Kanj, Keating, Kemeny, Khan, Kind, Kokini, Kowler, Leath, Lehne, Maddison, Markowitz, McCall, McCormick, McCoy-Carter, McKeever, Messer, Mistry, Mulcahy, Mulvey, Ng, Nolfi, Norville, Oren, Palmon, Panayotatos, Patel, Puniello, Rabinowitz, J. Robinson, Rockland, Sass, Schantz, Schock, Schumacher, Shmulenson, P. Simmons, R. Simmons, Sofer, Spiegel, Stein, Stone, Szatrowski, K. Thompson, Tittler, Tomassone, Toney-Boss, Tony, Traxler, Vodak, Wagner, Wang, Wyhopen, Yares

EXCUSED: Adames, Barrett, Boylan, Buttler, Colaizzi, Cowen, Creese, Dienst, Diner, Finegold, Fishbein, Gaunt, Gliserman, Goldman, Gonzalez-Palmer, Gugig, Kern, Lashley, Leonard, Lewis, Livingston, Marchetta, J. Meyer, W. Meyer, Nangle, Pottick, M. Robinson, Rodgers, Slavin, R. Thompson, Van Til, Williams, Winterbauer

ABSENT: Ambar, Amirahmadi, Apfel, Barbarese, Busia, Caprio, Colin, E. Dennis, R. Dennis, Deutsch, Diamond, Edwards, Foley, Goodman, Greaux, Greene, Gunderson, Habib, Halim, Hart, Holzer, Hyndman, Jozefczyk, Kenfield, Kennedy, Kerkhof, Kirschner, Klein, Koza, Marsh, McKay, Niederman, Oppenheim, Pedersen, Rankin, Schaich, Schein, Sharp, Solomon, Sosa, Stauffer, Sukhdeo, Swisher, Wallace

ATTENDANCE	Faculty: Of 83 total: 50 present (60%), 15 excused (18%), 18 absent (22%)
SUMMARY	Students: Of 37 total: 23 present (62%), 8 excused (22%), 6 absent (16%)
	Administrators: Of 35 total: 9 present (26%), 7 excused (20%), 19 absent (54%)
	Alumni: Of 6 total: 3 present (60%), 3 excused (40%), 0 absent
	Staff: Of 10 total: 8 present (80%), 0 excused, 2 absent (20%)

PRESIDING OFFICER Martha Cotter, Chairperson

CALL TO ORDER AND DETERMINATION OF A QUORUM:

Chairperson Cotter called the meeting to order at 11:08 a.m. She welcomed new and returning Senators to the first meeting of the 2007-2008 University Senate.

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY: Agenda: The agenda was approved as distributed. **Communications:** Secretary Swalagin introduced himself, and welcomed new and returning Senators. He asked all Senators not yet assigned to a standing committee to complete a committee preference form and send it to him before committee assignments are finalized in early June. He asked all Senators to review the online schedule of 2007-2008 Senate meetings and enter those on their calendars.

PRIVILEGE OF THE FLOOR: Privilege of the floor was granted to Nominating Panel Chairperson Victor Greenhut, a member of the 2006-07 and 2007-08 Senates.

REPORT OF THE NOMINATING PANEL: Nominating Panel Chairperson Victor Greenhut thanked the Nominating Panel members, then presented the report of the Nominating Panel.

Senator Greenhut gave a brief overview of the nominating and election process. He said that candidates for positions which are uncontested are not be required to make statements in support of their candidacies, but may do so if they wish.

Senator Greenhut then announced candidates for Senate chairperson, vice chairperson, Executive Committee members, and board representatives, calling for nominations from the floor in each category. In addition to the persons nominated by the Nominating Panel, Staff Senator Gayle Stein was nominated from the floor for vice chairperson.

The nominations completed, the resultant slate of candidates was:

Chairperson (who serves *ex officio* as Representative to the Board of Governors): Paul Leath, At-Large NB (Faculty); Samuel Rabinowitz, School of Business-Camden (Faculty)

Vice Chairperson: Gayle Stein, Staff NB; (and the runner-up from the chairperson election, which was Paul Leath) Faculty Members of the Executive Committee: Natalie Borisovets, Libraries-Newark; Jan Dutta, SAS-NB, Ann Gould, Cook/SEBS; Victor Greenhut, SAS-NB; Joseph Kokini, At-Large NB; Francoise Puniello, SAS-NB Part-Time Lecturer/Annual Appointee Faculty Member of the Executive Committee: Rachel Goldman, PTL-Newark; Karen Thompson, PTL-NB

Camden Student Member of the Executive Committee: Alesha McCall, CCAS

Newark Student Member of the Executive Committee: No nominee

New Brunswick Student Member of the Executive Committee: Ryan Cooke, SAS-NB

Alumnus Member of the Executive Committee: Raymond Bodnar, Alumni Federation

Staff Senator Member of the Executive Committee: Gayle Stein, Staff-NB

Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors: Martha Cotter, Graduate School-NB; Ian Creese, Graduate School-Newark

Student Representative to the Board of Governors: Margaret Coppolo, SAS-NB; Edward Ng, SAS-NB Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees: Abena Busia, SAS-NB; Ted Szatrowski, At-Large Newark; Mark Vodak, Cook/SEBS

Undergraduate Student Representative to the Board of Trustees: Wajdi Kanj, Engineering Graduate Student Representative to the Board of Trustees: Ryan Fowler, Graduate School-NB

Senator Greenhut explained that, in accordance with recently adopted procedures for election of Executive Committee members, candidates for the contested election for Vice Chairperson were included in the slate for Faculty Member of the Executive Committee. This allows the candidate who does not prevail in the Vice Chairperson election to still be elected to the Executive Committee, rather than being eliminated from the slate entirely.

Candidates who wished to do so were given time to make statements.

CHAIRPERSON ELECTION: The election for chairperson was held first (Samuel Rabinowitz being the successful candidate), the separate ballots tabulated while candidates made campaign statements, and the result announced.

VOTING AND COLLECTION OF BALLOTS: Voting for all positions other than chairperson was done on paper ballots prepared by the Secretary and distributed at sign-in only to voting members of the 2007-08 Senate. Linda Mickelsen of the Senate Office collected and tabulated. Chairperson Cotter noted that Secretary Swalagin would announce and post online the election results later in the day.

[Secretary's Note: Election results were announced during the subsequent Senate regular meeting, and posted on the Senate website that evening, as follows:

Chairperson:

Samuel Rabinowitz, School of Business-Camden, Faculty

Vice Chairperson: Paul Leath, At-Large NB, Faculty

Balance of Executive Committee:

Raymond Bodnar, Alumni Federation, Alumnus Natalie Borisovets, Libraries, Faculty (Newark) Ryan Cooke, SAS-NB, Student Martha Cotter*, GS-NB, Faculty Ann Gould, SEBS, Faculty Victor Greenhut, SAS-NB, Faculty Joseph Kokini, At-Large NB, Faculty Alesha McCall, CCAS, Student Francoise Puniello, SAS-NB, Faculty Gayle Stein, New Brunswick Staff Karen Thompson, Part-time Lecturer, New Brunswick, Faculty

*Outgoing Senate Chairperson becomes a member of the Executive Committee for one year following her chairship.

Representatives to Board of Governors:

Margaret Coppolo, SAS-NB, Student Martha Cotter, GS-NB, Faculty Samuel Rabinowitz, School of Business-Camden, Faculty, *ex officio*

Representatives to Board of Trustees:

Abena Busia, SAS-NB, Faculty Mark Vodak, SEBS, Faculty Ryan Fowler, GS-NB, Graduate Student Wajdi Kanj, Engineering, Undergraduate Student

ADJOURNMENT: At 12:10 p.m., Chairperson Cotter adjourned the Organizational Meeting.

Kenneth Swalagin Executive Secretary of the University Senate