MINUTES: Regular Meeting of the University Senate

DATE: March 29, 2019

TIME AND PLACE: 1:10 p.m., Multipurpose Room, College Avenue Student Center, College Avenue Campus

MEMBERS PRESENT: Acosta, Alexander-Floyd, Alizadeh, Ardeshna, Atkins, Aubert, Avallone, Awan, Barbarese, Bekdash, Bhuyan, Boikess, Bora, Borisovets, Chunn, D'Anna, Dane, Dasari, DeFilippis, DiLalo, Dreyer, Ebert, Esposito, Everett, Farris, Field, Gillett, Giraud, Gonzalez, Gould, Gower, Gursoy, Han, Hartman, Heckscher, Hunter-Fratzola, Jarrin, Joergensen, Johnson, Junboonta, Kabia, E. Kane, Kaye, Kelly, Kettle, Kurtas, Kustka, Langer, LaPointe, Lee, Lema, Lindboe, LoGrippo, Lutz, Mahajan-Cusack, Maloney, Mammis, Mancini, Mansukhani, Marchetta, Markert, Masiello, Matto, Mazurek, Mena-Segovia, Molloy, Norris, Norville, Oleske, Oliver, Pandey, Parrish, Parsa, Paskhover, S. Patel, Perez, Peyrek, Pichugin, Powell, Puhak, Rabinowitz, Raza, Rivera, Rosen, Rothpletz-Puglia, Saltzman, Sanchez, Schwartz, Sen, Serrano, Sesti, C. Shah, Shapses, Shinbrot, Soto, Spiegel, Steinberg, Stopyra, Struble, Szatrowski, Takhistov, Tharney, B. Thompson, K. Thompson, Thuravil, Tracey, Trees, Tsakalakos, Van Stine, Vidal, Walkup, Wilde, Zamora-Porras

EXCUSED: Abbasi, Barchi, Brewster-Bauzyk, Bridgeman, Bugel, Cole, J. Cummings, Fellenz, Goldfarb, Goodman, Graber, Gross, Guo, Honeycutt, Hunter, C. Kane, Kashalikar, Lewis, Maglione-Rico, McKeever, O'Brassill-Kulfan, O'Neill, Pappas, Pardlo, B. Patel, Pinto-Figueroa, Porumbescu, Pradhan, Puar, Ravichandran, Silver, Song, Zhang

ABSENT: Alidou, Artun, Balaguru, Barone, Brunson, Cahill, Cantor, Carson, Carty, Castaneda, Chinn, Collins, Conway, Cotter, Covington, Craig, M. Cummings, DeFabiis, Denham-Barrett, Dettloff, Dowlin, Eastman, Eaton, Eisenstein, Emmons, Estriplet, Fagan, Farmbry, Feldman, Filippelli, Ganesh, Greenberg, Haddon, Halkitis, Hatefi, Holzemer, Iannini, Johnson, Kaminskas, Kukor, Langsam, Lei, Little, Lopez, Lugg, Mahon, March, Marchitello, Marsic, Menifield, Miller, B. Murphy, K. Murphy, Nickitas, O'Connor, Patel, Patton, Ponzio, C. Potter, J. Potter, Rajan, Raval, Schiavo, Schneider, A. Shah, Shapiro, Sheridan, Stauffer, Strom, White, Williams, Yang, Ziessler

ATTENDANCE SUMMARY:   Faculty: Of 115 total: 71 present (62%), 16 excused (14%), 28 absent (24%); Students: Of 42 total: 21 present (50%), 8 excused (19%), 12 absent (29%); Administrators: Of 38 total: 5 present (13%), 3 excused (8%), 30 absent (79%); Staff: Of 18 total: 11 present (61%), 5 excused (28%),  2 absent (11%); Alumni: Of 6 total: 5 present (83%), 1 excused (17%), 0 absent (0%)
View Senate Attendance Record for this year


Senate Chair Peter Gillett called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room of the College Avenue Student Center, College Avenue Campus, New Brunswick. He announced the Nominating Panel for next year's Senate has been chosen and will be chaired by Senator Ann Gould. He also reported the EC has submitted recommendations for members of Chancellor Cantor's Chancellor's Review Committee and will soon be recommending members for Chancellor Strom and University Libarian Maloney's respective reviews. He concluded his report highlighting reports by Chancellor Christopher Molloy and Senior Vice President Barbara Lee.

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY - Mary Mickelsen, Executive Secretary 


Faculty and Personnel Affairs Response to Charge S-1701 on Reconciling RBHS Procedures for Review of Deans and Programs with Other Existing Procedures - Ann Gould, FPAC Member and Liaison to the Executive Committee

The FPAC has been charged as follows: Consider and make recommendations as to how procedures for review of deans and programs at RBHS might best be reconciled with existing procedures in other parts of Rutgers.

FPAC Member and EC Liaison Ann Gould summarized the work of the committee and the FPAC's Response to Charge S-1701 on Reconciling RBHS Procedures for Review of Deans and Programs with Other Existing Procedures. Gould then read the related resolutions. There was no debate and the vote carried with 1 against.

Budget and Finance Committee Annual Report on the Rutgers University Budget - Menahem Spiegel, BFC Chair

BFC Chair Menahem Spiegel presented the BFC's Annual Report on the University Budget.

Response to Charge S-1804 on How Student Senators are Elected- Elizabeth Matto and Julie Serrano, SAC Co-Chairs

The SAC has been charged as follows: Evaluate and make recommendations on how Student Senators are elected. Consider if there should be a requirement for direct election of senators.

SAC Chairs Matto and Serrano summarized the work of the committee and the SAC's Response to Charge S-1804 on How Student Senators are Elected. Serrano read the resolutions and answered questions. There was minimal debate and the vote carried with 1 against.

NEW BRUNSWICK CHANCELLOR'S REPORT - Christopher Molloy, New Brunswick Chancellor

Rutgers New Brunswick Chancellor Christopher Molloy presented his chancellor's report. Molloy then responded to questions, or heard comments, on the above topics, as well as:

[Chancellor Molloy left the meeting after delivering her report and responding to questions.]

A Motion was made to extend the meeting by 30 minutes to 4:10pm was passed.

ADMINISTRATIVE REPORT - Barbara Lee, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

SVP Lee presented an Administrative Report that included comments on: 

Gillett summarized the format and time limits for SVP Lee's question and answer period. The Senior Vice President then responded to one comment on gender inequities among faculty.

SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT - Senate Vice Chair Jon Oliver reported on the March 8, 2019 meeting and activities of the Senate Executive Committee. 

REPORTS OF THE REPRESENTATIVES TO BOARDS OF GOVERNORS AND TRUSTEES: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Governors, reported the next meeting is being held on April 9. Senator Robert Schwartz, Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees and Ilce Perez, Undergraduate Student Representative to the Board of Trustees, reported on the March 13 meeting.  

REPORTS OF CAMPUS FACULTY AND STUDENT LIAISONS: Senator Samuel Rabinowitz, Camden Faculty Liaison reported on the March 6th Camden Faculty Council Meeting. Senator Michael Van Stine, Camden Student Member of the Senate Executive Committee, reported that the School of Business-Camden received its reaccredidation from AACSB International. Senator Sanjib Bhuyan, New Brunswick Faculty Council Chair, reported on the March 15th New Brunswick Faculty Council meeting. Senator Julie Serrano, New Brunswick Student Member of the Senate Executive Committee, reported on RUSA's March 28th meeting and that student government elections are currently underway. Senator Carol Lutz, RBHS Faculty Council Representative reported the RBHS Faculty Council's meeting was occurring at the same time as this meeting, but they are looking at the proposal from NBFC to introduce all faculty councils into the University Policy Library. 

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting adjourned at 3:51 p.m.

Minutes Written and Submitted by,
Mary Mickelsen, Executive Secretary of the University Senate