Rutgers University Senate

The Rutgers University Senate is a university-wide deliberative body consisting of representatives of Rutgers faculty, students, staff, administrators, and alumni. The Senate meets eight or nine times during the academic year to consider matters of general University interest, and to make recommendations to the University administration on those matters.


The Rutgers University Senate is the only advisory and legislative body that represents the entire community of faculty, students, staff, administrators and alumni to the Rutgers' president and boards. It serves as the principal advisory body to the president. On certain matters, the president acts only after receiving the advice of the Senate or giving the Senate time to present its views.

The Senate advises on areas including:
  • Budget priorities, allocations, and general planning;
  • Special affiliations and programs;
  • Establishment or dissolution of colleges, schools, divisions, institutes and other educational units;
  • Regulations affecting students and faculty, such as those concerning academic freedom, equal opportunities, and personnel practices and procedures as they affect the academic mission of Rutgers; and

  • Such changes in educational and research policy as are covered in University Regulations.
Beyond advising, the Senate has the authority to legislate:
  • The academic calendar;
  • Minimum standards of admission, scholarship and honors; and
  • Formal relationships among academic units.

Currently the Rutgers University Senate body consists of 255 members representing 5 constituencies within 37 schools, including: 133 faculty, 58 students, 18 staff, 41 administrators and 6 alumni.

Regular meetings of the Senate are scheduled 8-9 times an academic year. The meetings are held on Fridays once a month at 1:10pm and are open to all members of the University. Written notice of all meetings and their agenda are provided to members and posted on this webstie a week prior to that meeting.